Carol Hollenshead Award

CH Award Header w picture

In honor of former director Carol Hollenshead’s twenty-year tenure at the Center for the Education of Women, CEW created the Carol Hollenshead Award for Excellence in Promoting Equity and Social Change. Awardees are faculty and staff (either an individual or a group) whose sustained efforts have resulted in greater equity in regard to gender, race, class, age, disability, gender identity, or sexual orientation.

The nominees must be affiliated with the University of Michigan. However, the focus of their efforts may be either within or beyond the university. Honorees will be those who, like Carol, have proven that social change is possible through persistent hard work and who realize that one person can make a lasting difference.

Criteria for the award:

  • Sustained effort and demonstrated outcomes in achieving greater equity
    in this community or beyond
  • Creativity in devising strategic approaches to advocacy and problem solving
  • Demonstrated commitment to diversity and inclusion
  • Effective coalition building

This award is given in conjunction with the CEW Mullin Welch Lecture Series. The Mullin Welch Lecture Series was established in 1989 by Frances Daseler and Marjorie Jackson in memory of their sister Elizabeth Charlotte Mullin Welch. This fund brings women leaders to campus who exemplify Elizabeth's characteristics: creativity, strength of character and expansive vision.

Nominations are due by 5:00 pm on Monday, October 23, 2017.

Meet the 2016 winners of the Carol Hollenshead Award for Excellence in Promoting Equity and Social Change!

Please contact Janice Reuben, CEW Staff Program Manager, at for information about upcoming 2017 nominations.