The CEW Scholarships and Fellowships Program


The CEW Scholarship Program for returning women students was established in 1970 to honor the academic performance and potential of women whose education has been interrupted and to commemorate the one hundredth anniversary of the admission of women to the University of Michigan.

Thanks to the generosity of individuals and foundations, CEW has awarded nearly 1,600 scholarships since 1970. CEW Scholarship Awards are invaluable, since they often mean the difference between completing a degree or not doing so for many students at the University of Michigan. Due to the generosity of donors, CEW was able to expand the program in 2008 to include additional scholarships for male and female students on the Ann Arbor campus.

Donating to CEW Scholarships and to the CEW Scholarship Program

If you are interested in starting a named CEW Scholarship, or supporting our Scholarship Program endowment, contact Mary Lynn Stevens at or 734-764-7291. You may also donate online here.

Eligibility Criteria

CEW Scholarship applicants must be attending the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor, Flint, or Dearborn campuses) during the year for which the scholarship is awarded. Be certain to check the complete list of criteria before applying for a scholarship.

2015-2016 Scholarship Application Deadline has passed.  

The application for the 2016-17 academic year will be available in early December, 2015. If you have any questions, please contact Kristina Bee at 

Scholarships Offered

Gail Allen Scholarship
AAUW Scholarship 

AAUW: Mary Elizabeth Bittman Memorial Scholarship
Christine Kahan Black Scholarship
Jane and Bill Bloom Scholarship
Margaret Dusseau Brevoort Scholarship
Ruth Jeanette Buttrey Scholarship
CEW Graduate Scholarship
Collegiate Sorosis Foundation Scholarship
Lucile B. Conger Alumnae Group Scholarship 
Molly H. Dobson Scholarships
Robert Bruce Dunlap Memorial Scholarship 

Elizabeth Dusseau Scholarship
Beth Halloran Scholarship
Beatrice Kahn Scholarship
Elsie Choy Lee Scholarship
Sarah Winans Newman Scholarship

Aline Underhill Orten Foundation Scholarship
Retirement Income Solutions, Inc. Scholarship
Linda J. Rider Scholarship
Helen Huff Shell Scholarship
Margaret Dow Towsley Scholarships
Faculty Women's Club Scholarship
Irma M. Wyman Scholarships 


Approximately 40 Scholarships are awarded annually ranging from $1,000 to $10,000, with some larger scholarship awards given.



Three CEW fellowship programs offer funding to UM graduate students:

Menakka and Essel Bailey Graduate Fellowship


The 2015-2016 Menakka and Essel Bailey Graduate Fellowship application deadline has passed! Check back in December 2015 for applications for Spring/Summer 2016 funding.

The Menakka and Essel Bailey Graduate Fellowship offers multiple grants up to $6,500 each for graduate students, on the Ann Arbor campus, who are U.S. citizens pursuing research, field work, cultural experience, or other study relevant to their graduate degree, preferably in the areas of public health, health care, or environmental work in South or Southeast Asia (excluding China or Japan). Preference given to students seeking funds in addition to this source.

To apply, submit an original application plus four copies of a packet that contains the following:

  • Application pages A through 2
  • Proof of IRB approval for the project (if relevant for the nature of the research)
  • An updated curriculum vitae
  • A proposal of not more than 1500 words describing the applicant’s reasons for planning to study or conduct research in South or Southeast Asia (excluding China and Japan) as well as the objectives and methods of any planned research project
  • Project budget (page 2 of the application) itemizing all costs and showing how the Bailey funds would fit into the budget and how additional costs, if any, would be covered
  • A current transcript, including Fall 2014
  • An indication via the transcript or other means of having studied the language of the country the applicant intends to visit
  • Two letters of recommendation including the Request for Reference sheet, both of which should come from faculty in the applicant’s discipline(s).  The letters and cover sheets may be submitted directly by recommenders separately from the application. We do accept letters of reference via email at We do not accept applications via email.

Mail or deliver your application packets to (We do not accept applications via email):
Center for the Education of Women
Attention: CEW Fellowship Program
330 E. Liberty Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2274


The Mary Malcomson Raphael Fellowship - by Nomination Only  

The 2015-2016 MMR Fellowship application deadline has passed.

The application for 2016-17 academic year will be available in early December, 2015.

The Mary Malcomson Raphael Fellowship is for graduate women students in a humanities or social
science field within the College of Literature, Science and the Arts. The Fellowship is intended as an
award of high distinction and is presented to women held in the highest esteem by their faculty. It is
provided through an endowment established by the late Margaret Earhart Smith in recognition of Ms.
Raphael, who, by personality and action, “evoked power in people above and beyond their ordinary
capacity.” The intent of the donor is that the Fellowship provide for tuition and essential living expenses
without sacrifice of the fellow’s time, such as through employment. The amount of the fellowship will
be determined by individual need. At least one Fellowship will be awarded for the 2015-2016 academic
year and will be announced in June 2015.

Each department is invited to submit one nomination.

A candidate should have completed at least four terms at the University in a graduate program leading to a doctoraldegree. There should be clear evidence of distinguished scholarship as well as a commitment to and concern for the larger society. We urge departments to recommend students who have reached candidacy. While pre-candidates may be selected in exceptional circumstances, it is unusual for pre-candidates to demonstrate the level of distinguished scholarship the Fellowship requires. A former nominee who did not receive the Fellowship may be her department’s nominee for a second year. 


Women graduate students enrolled for the 2015-2016 academic year in a social
science or humanities doctoral program within the College of Literature, Science
and the Arts and who have completed at least four terms at the University at
the time of application.


Departmental nomination is required.


Evidence of academic excellence and capacity for intellectual growth.

Clarity of scholarly and professional goals.

Potential to make a contribution (broadly defined) of exceptional usefulness
to society, and a genuine concern for the welfare of others.

Demonstrated financial aid.



Each department is invited to submit one nomination. Please submit the ORIGINAL
of all nomination materials to the Center for the
Education of Women, 330 E. Liberty 2289.

For nomination materials or questions please contact Kristina Bee via or 734-764-7271.

Submit the five packets of materials, with the information in the following order:

 1. Application

2. Departmental letter of Nomination which takes note of the Fellowship Selection Criteria and a statement of
financial support the department anticipates providing the candidate for 2015-2016 and subsequent years.

3. Two additional letters of recommendation from people knowledgeable about the candidate's qualifications.

4. Candidate's two page personal statement regarding her scholarly and professional goals, and a two page
description of her scholarly work.

5. Candidate's vita or resume; current address and phone number.

6. Transcripts for the candidate's entire graduate work at the University.