The 2020 Sarah Goddard Power Award and Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award Ceremony

February 13, 2019 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Henderson Room, Michigan League

Please join us for the annual Sarah Goddard Power & Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Awards Ceremony.

The Sarah Goddard Power & Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Awards are presented by the Academic Women’s Caucus, which was founded in its current form in 1975. Its initial charge was ” …to develop an inclusive organization of all women faculty members of the Ann Arbor, Dearborn, and Flint campuses of the University of Michigan which will serve as a forum for the exchange of information about the status of faculty women at the University and as a focus for action necessary to the investigation and resolution of their special concerns.” To this end, the Caucus has met regularly during the academic year since 1976. It has responded to the concerns of its members by sponsoring informational and problem-solving sessions of various kinds and has provided support and a mechanism for exchange of ideas and action proposals.

2018-19 Sarah Goddard Power Award

Sarah Goddard Power was widely acclaimed as a major contributor to the advancement of higher education, an advocate for affirmative action and human rights, and a champion of freedom for the international press. As a Regent of the University of Michigan for more than 12 years, Sarah Goddard Power worked tirelessly to advance the position of women and minorities in faculty and administrative roles.

Regent Sarah Goddard Power originally suggested that the Academic Women’s Caucus present awards to such individuals. In 1984, an Awards Committee was established to select the first recipients of the Academic Women’s Caucus Awards. Thus, it seemed appropriate that the Academic Women’s Caucus Award be renamed to honor Regent Power. In 1988, Regent Philip H. Power graciously consented to allow the Caucus to rename its awards the Academic Women’s Caucus Sarah Goddard Power Award. In 1998, President Lee Bollinger enabled the Award to be offered with an accompanying stipend. Each year, nominations are selected for the Sarah Goddard Power Awards.

2019 Sarah Goddard Power Award Recipients:

RadaRada Mihalcea is a Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Michigan and the Director of the Michigan Artificial Intelligence Lab. Her research interests are in computational linguistics, with a focus on lexical semantics, multilingual natural language processing, and computational social sciences. She serves or has served on the editorial boards of the Journals of Computational Linguistics, Language Resources and Evaluations, Natural Language Engineering, Journal of Artificial Intelligence Research, IEEE Transactions on Affective Computing, and Transactions of the Association for Computational Linguistics. She was a program co-chair for Empirical Methods in Natural Language Processing 2009 and Association for Computational Linguistics 2011, and a general chair for North Chapter of the Association for Computational Linguistics 2015 and *SEM 2019. She currently serves as the Association for Computational Linguistics Vice-President Elect. She is the recipient of a National Science Foundation CAREER award (2008) and a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers awarded by President Obama (2009). In 2013, she was made an honorary citizen of her hometown of Cluj-Napoca, Romania.

Lori Judy HeadshotJody R. Lori is Professor and the Associate Dean for Global Affairs at the University of Michigan, School of Nursing (UMSN). She also serves as Director of the PAHO/WHO Collaborating Center for Nursing and Midwifery at UMSN. A Fellow in the American College of Nurse Midwives and the American Academy of Nursing, Dr. Lori’s research uses community-based participatory research focusing on the development and testing of new models of care to address the high rates of maternal and newborn mortality in sub-Saharan Africa. With diverse funding sources including NIH, United States Agency for International Development, and private foundations she has examined the impact of maternity waiting homes as a system-based intervention to increase access to quality intrapartum and postpartum care for women and newborns living in remote, rural areas far from a skilled provider in Liberia and Zambia. She is currently conducting a cluster RCT in Ghana to test the efficacy of group antenatal care to improve maternal and newborn outcomes. She holds a Ph.D. in Nursing from the University of Arizona and a M.S. in Midwifery from the University of Michigan.

2018-19 Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award

The Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award supports a long-standing vision of increasing the number of diverse women in the academy. Named after late Vice Provost Rhetaugh Dumas, it recognizes outstanding institutional initiative in demonstrating notable progress by academic units in achieving ethnic, racial and gender diversity among those pursuing and achieving tenure as professors, clinical professors, research professors, and research scientists.

Rhetaugh Dumas was an esteemed leader with vision, insight, and wise counsel who had a major impact in the advancement of nursing, healthcare, and academic programs at U-M. Vice Provost Dumas was only the second African-American to hold the position of a Dean at the University of Michigan when she was appointed in 1981, and the first African-American to be named a Dean. She was reappointed Dean of Nursing in 1986 and 1991 to second and third terms. Prior to that appointment, she was the first woman and first nurse to serve as a deputy director of the National Institute of Mental Health. Dumas was Deputy Director, Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration (1979-1981) and before that Chief, Psychiatric Nursing Education Branch of the Division of Manpower and Training Programs (1972-1976). She was also a founding member, a Charter Fellow, and a former president of the American Academy of Nursing. Dumas served the University of Michigan for over 20 years with vision and a commitment to excellence.

2019 Rhetaugh G. Dumas Progress in Diversifying Award Recipient:

School of Nursing logo

The School of Nursing has been selected to receive the Dumas Award for its steady progress to increase diversity by race and gender among their faculty over the past two years, including at the full and associate professor ranks.